DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT SUB COMMITTEE (VISITS)

ABERDEEN, 13 December 2012. Minute of Meeting of the DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT SUB COMMITTEE (VISITS). <u>Present</u>:- Councillors Cormie, Finlayson, Lawrence, McCaig, Jean Morrison MBE, Stuart (as substitute for Councillor Jaffrey) and Thomson.

The agenda and report associated with this minute can be found at:http://committees.aberdeencity.gov.uk/ieListDocuments.aspx?Cld=152&Mld=2634&Ver=4

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

1. In the absence of the Convener, the Clerk invited nominations to the Chair.

The Development Management Sub Committee resolved:-

to appoint Councillor Jean Morrison MBE to the Chair.

7 HARLAW TERRACE, ABERDEEN - 121239

2. With reference to the minute of meeting of the Development Management Sub Committee of 6 December, 2012, wherein the Sub Committee agreed to visit the site, the Sub Committee had before it a report by the Head of Planning and Sustainable Development which recommended:-

that the Sub Committee approve the application in respect of planning permission for proposed alterations to an approved car port at 7 Harlaw Terrace, Aberdeen, subject to the following condition:-

That the carport hereby granted planning permission shall not be used for any purpose other than that which is ancillary to the domestic use of the dwelling house.

Councillor McCaig moved, seconded by Councillor Jean Morrison MBE:that the recommendation contained within the report be approved.

Councillor Thomson moved as an amendment, seconded by Councillor Finlayson:that the application be refused on the grounds that the proposed development
conflicted with Policy D1 (Architecture and Place Making) and Policy H1
(Residential Areas) in the Aberdeen Local Development Plan as the
development was not of an acceptable scale and design for the location and
adversely impacted on the residential character and amenity of the area and has
an impact on neighbouring properties.

On a division, there voted:- <u>for the motion</u> (5) – Councillors Cormie, Lawrence, McCaig, Jean Morrison MBE and Stuart; <u>for the amendment</u> (2) – Councillors Finlayson and Thomson.

The Sub Committee resolved:-

to adopt the motion.

- COUNCILLOR JEAN MORRISON MBE, Chair.